Return to Headlines

Congratulations to 2021 Educator Grant Recipients!

June 15, 2021

We once again would like to thank all educators who applied for grants afforded by the Foundation. This is the third year in a row the Foundation has been able to fund teachers and their creative ideas. Originally, Dr. Craig Phillips proposed that the Foundation offer educator grants which aligned with the Foundation’s philosophy of helping students and staff. Soon after, Janet Smith (Greenbriar Middle School teacher) co-chaired a committee to determine the guidelines, rubric and winners. Joining them on the committee this year were Al Divis, Barbara Filipow, Sharon Arko Jones and Rick Meeks.

In this third year of grants, we are pleased that 29 grants were submitted, and we are delighted to award 19 grants, more than ever, (for a total of $7,127) for the 2021-2022 school year.  Congratulations to the following grant recipients:

  • Kelly Chismar, Pleasant Valley Elementary: 4th Grade Book Fairies - $500
  • Amy Guerrieri, First Step Preschool: Science Center Update - $275
  • Laura Hartsel, Brittney Ditzler, Dominic Gildone, Molly Nehr, and Dan Szeremet, Shiloh Middle: Only One You - $230
  • Wendy Hengeli, John Muir Elementary: Science and Social Studies for Special Education - $171
  • Sarah Kelly, Normandy High: Instilling Student Choice for Classroom Library - $105
  • Allison Kokely, Tiffany Gibson, and Dale Pawul, Pleasant Valley Elementary: Skill Game Stations - $447
  • Patrick Montana, Hillside/Shiloh Middle: Anti-Smoking/Vaping Campaign - $500
  • Natalie Morrison and Brittany Kucinich, Shiloh Middle: Shiloh Coffee Cart - $335
  • Kim Natale and Eileen Malloy, Parma Senior High: PSH Brew Crew - $500
  • Pamela Owens, Parma Park Elementary: SEL It! - $500
  • Pam Paltani, Jennifer Adrovet, Laurie Hausler, and Connie Konczal, Dentzler Elementary: 4th Grade Embrace All Literature - $500
  • Brenda Prezenkowski, John Muir Elementary: Embrace All Book Club - $465
  • Brandy Reichman and Brittany Kucinich, Greenbriar/Shiloh Middle: Prevocational Tasks in Middle School Occupational Therapy - $294
  • Kim Ryan, Thoreau Park Elementary: Book of the Year Prizes - $400
  • Amy Spina, Greenbriar Middle: Jenga Review Games - $120
  • Amy Spina and Amy Fink, Greenbriar Middle: Yeomen Closet - $500
  • Laura Stover, Erin Bruening, Maria Haoui, and Rebecca Loyd, All elementary schools combined: Bringing Literacy to Life - $500
  • Kim Ware, Dentzler Elementary: Reading Pet Adoption - $500
  • Justin Wilhelm, Carrie Cutler, Alisa Kelly, and Patty Pacer, Dentzler Elementary: Watch our Kindergarten Grow - $285

Because of the pandemic, honoring the recipients at a Board of Education meeting could not be accomplished.  Recipients will receive a check and a letter explaining the process within the next two weeks. Please join us in extending congratulations to each of the winners.