About the Parma Senior High School Athletic Hall of Fame

  • The Parma Senior High Athletic Hall of Fame has been established to create a lasting tribute to those who have brought honor to themselves, their school, and our community through excellence in athletics.


    History: The Parma Senior High Athletic Hall of Fame was created in 2007 by PSH Athletic Director Ryan Madison. The original selection committee was headed by Mr. Madison and comprised of Tony Demarco, Robert Boulton, Bruce Saban, Joe Gaudino, Preston White and Connie Ramunni. The committee met several times in the spring of 2007. They were responsible for crafting the selection criteria and choosing suitable members to be inducted in the charter class. The committee selected 25 athletes to be recognized for this prestigious honor. They included: Lee Bailey, Robert Brugge, Arnie Chonko, Dave Condon, Dave Cooper, Carmen Cozza, Pat Eaton, Erwin Grabisna, Kim Hill, Les Horvath, Harry Houska, Bob Jarus, Ernie Lees, Laura Lindak, Jim Linx, Jim Manocchio, Bob Mason, Ron Mottl, Mike Ozdowski, Ron Quercioli, Mark Raiff, Rich Rollins, Kevin Senich, Mike Senich, and Bruce Trammell. The charter induction took place on Friday, December 21, 2007. A second induction class was enshrined in 2014. 


    Qualifications for Nomination: To qualify for nomination, the person must have attended, coached, or supported Parma Senior High School athletics. The PSH Hall of Fame recognizes the student-athletes and staff members of the former Parma Ridge, former Parma Schaaf and our current Parma Senior High School students and staff members. The candidate should have excelled in athletics at Parma High School before or after graduation. The candidate should have displayed good sportsmanship, citizenship and character providing a good role model for our current student-athletes. An alumni candidate must have graduated at least five years prior to nomination. Faculty/staff candidates are eligible after 5 years of service to PSH. Nomination forms are available in the PSH. Athletic Department Office and on this site under "Contents."


    Selection Committee: The selection committee is chosen by the PSH Athletic Director. The committee should be comprised of an odd number of members; preferably graduates or staff members of PSH that represent each decade of the schools existence. The attempt is to have at least one representative from the 50's, 60's, 70's, 80's, 90's and 2000's on the committee. Each member has voting rights, with the Athletic Director having one vote and final decision making power. A majority vote is required for selection into the Hall of Fame.


    Inductions: Athletic H.O.F. induction ceremonies will be held every few years in years preferably opposite of the PSH. Alumni Association H.O.F. inductions. The initial few induction classes will be larger classes, with the intent to reduce the size of each class with each induction. Eventually a class of 4-6 will be the norm. The next induction will take place during the 2016-2017 school year.


    Awards: Each inductee receives a plaque at induction and a picture plaque is also displayed in the Athletic Hall of Fame section of the athletic hallway.